The Epidemic of Change

02-02-10-0031

On Saturday I saw the movie “The last days of Franco” by director Roberto Bodegas, which is circulating in the underground film network. The film chronicles the last two months in the life of Spanish dictator Francisco Franco. I have already passed it on to others, with the suggestion that they do the same.

I have used this method for some time with excellent results. I initially called it “exponential diffusion.”  I figured, ideally, you can pass on to 2, who can pass on to 4, these to 16, and so on. Then I started calling it the avalanche:  I visualized an avalanche to undermine the state media monopoly, to destroy and crush it.

But I borrowed Malcolm Gladwell’s book The Tipping Point – How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, and have learned that the transmission of ideas, messages, and behaviors that change our lives spread like viruses, and thus their diffusion has the dynamics of an epidemic. In our context we only have to take off the mask, sneeze strongly and often, to spread the virus and be part of the epidemic of change.

Translated by: Tomás A.

Leave a Reply

